Remembering

Sad news this morning. Yesterday I found out that my godfather, I, was seriously ill in hospital and early this morning my sister phoned to say that he had passed away peacefully in the early hours. Although as a child we referred to him as 'Uncle' he was actually a long-time friend of my parents from their time together at the LSE. He was always treated like a family member though, hence his inclusion in the 'family' photograph on the left from our wedding. Originally from Horsforth, a suburb of Leeds, he was a Leeds United supporter like me and even went to some of the games that I could only follow from a distance. He sent me some of the programmes from the matches he went to - a couple of them here. The Fairs Cup Final Second Leg against Juventus in 1971 when Leeds drew on the night but won the trophy on away goals on the right. In the centre the programme from the first leg of the European Cup semi-final against Barcelona, Cruyff et al. Leeds won that game and the tie but were robbed in the final in Paris against Bayern. As I developed an interest in board games he started sending me games for birthdays. They were unexpected - things I hadn't asked for - and sometimes late, like his cards, but they always had an element of excitement. They introduced me to the historical renactment games of the time, the sort with lots of little cardboard counters moving across hex covered maps. One in particular stands out in my memory - a mini game from the Crimean about the battle of Inkerman - but there were others too. After my first degree I got a place at LSE on a Master course and I had to register several days before the start of term, when I could move into my room in a student hall of residence. In between times I stayed with I at his place on the edge of London. In fact that was where I celebrated my 21st birthday and the two of us went out for a meal that evening. We never did manage to get along together to see Leeds play in London that year. Over the years since we have kept in touch sporadically (mostly my fault - my parents and sister have been more in touch with I) and have met in person at a number of occasions. The picture in the centre is I and my Mum at another event - an LSE reunion they went to at Westminster. Last year he was one of the people we included in the book we put together for my Dad's birthday. In his letter, as well as reminiscences about my father he signed off with some thoughts about Leeds and some optimism about their chances of promotion this season. With a few games left to go they are still in with a shout - if they do make it's a shame he won't be around to see them back in the top flight. RIP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.