Oh Let Me Be Your Teddy Bear

There is an antique shop close to where I work. It's called Apple Hill Antiques, and it's located on Gerald Street, not far from the Nittany Mall. I'd read about it in one of the local newspapers around Christmas time - there was some special toy train set on display - and decided I needed to go and check it out. Well, Christmas came and went, and so did the train set, apparently. But on this day, I finally made it to the antique shop.

I was surprised at the amount and variety of stuff I found there. Old cameras, and typewriters, and clothing, and musical instruments, and sewing machines, and phones, and toys, and jewelry, and sheet music, and knick-knacks, and cups and plates, and lamps, and Penn State memorabilia, and even a juke box. And that's just for starters!

I picked up a few small items for the Crittergators' photo shoots. :-) I also made two significant Steiff finds: a rather large stuffed elephant, and this fellow shown above: a teddy bear! The price on the elephant seemed high, but the price on the teddy seemed reasonable (well, reasonable for a Steiff, anyway). I liked the look on its face. It seemed like it wanted to come home with me. It didn't on this day, but of course, there is always next time.  :-)

The soundtrack (you guessed it already, didn't you?): Elvis Presley, with Teddy Bear. And by the way, Tiny Tiger says tigers don't ALWAYS play too rough. So there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.