Daffodils After Rain

There they sat, drenched after rain, bright yellow like the sun, brightening up every corner of the yard. Daffodils have been coming up everywhere, including these little pretty ones that grow near the iris bed by the deck.

These are the smallest of all the daffs in the yard. And yes, you've seen them one time before: remember, when the little bear came driving along in his fancy, happy car, and actually made off with one? Yeah, I remember that!

There was no flower-theft on this day, and for now at least, I didn't pick any to bring inside. But I sure enjoyed them where they stood: shining golden-yellow like tiny suns, wearing their raindrops like glistening strands of jewels. . . .

The soundtrack is a lovely little tune that I adore, and it surprises me that I haven't used it before: Buddy Jewell, with Help Pour Out the Rain (Lacey's Song).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.