Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

SuMay

Aren’t friends great?

My old pal, SuMay, had to come up from London today, for work purposes, and went to the trouble of catching the 5.30am train from Euston so that she’d have time to enjoy a slap-up breakfast with me before her work duties called. So sweet of her.

It’s amazing how much talking can be done in a couple of hours!

I’m grateful to have known SuMay for over 30 years, and even though I don’t get to see her anything like as often as I’d ideally wish to, she always feels like one of the fixed points in my life, even as everything else shifts.

When thinking of a musical accompaniment to today’s Blip (and Extras) I was taken back to the music she used to play when I’d go round to visit her in her student house (in Ullet Road, here in Liverpool) all those years ago - mostly Prince and the Pet Shop Boys - and to her love of dancing and clubbing. In the end I’ve settled on ‘Theme From S-Express’ by S’Express, which the two of us sang along to many times, back in the day, if I recall correctly!

“Uno, dos, tres, quatro..” https://youtube.com/watch?v=IpeRShWMdYM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.