If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Bee Fly.

Perhaps I should have put a question mark in the title.  One of the identifiers of bees is a single pair of wings.   This insect has a single pair of wings but is unlike any bee I have ever seen.  The only other insect with a single pair of wings I know of are the bee flies.  So I have entitled the shot Bee Fly, if you know better please tell me.

Sadly the afternoon was mainly taken up with a funeral.  "Fred" (I never heard him called Alan which was his given name) was in my brothers year at school.  Consequently I have known him most of my life.  Fred was famously the one who nicknamed Kanyl - "Kanyl Kloride".

The Bee Fly was on Clematis at the garden centre where we went for coffee and to recuperate after the service at the "Crem".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.