If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Song Thrush (Turdus philomelos)

I was going to do another flower shot today.   So I set off wandering round the garden taking shots.  As I came back round the end of the house a bird flew at speed out of the dyke hedge.  My immediate reaction from the jizz was "thrush".  The second thought was "don't be daft we don't see many and never round this side of the house".  I crept along with the camera at the ready.  Sure enough there was the Song Thrush looking for worms etc among my work on the patio.

Song Thrushes have over recent years made a slight but very welcome recovery.  By 2010 they were down to about 1/5 of the 1970 population.  Recently the population has been approaching 1/3 of the 1970 population.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.