If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Highs and Lows.

A day of highs and very lows with our squirrels.  When I went out to top up the feeders a movement to my side caught my eye.  There 4ft (1.3m) on the side of the house above the shed was this little guy, complete with nut in its mouth.   A quietly and slowly walked past and when I was on my way back there it was sat nibbling the nut on top of the shed.  It stayed there as I crept past it.   What a high I have been trying to get the squirrels used to our presence.

The low.  We haven't seen the "our" female for a few days.   This afternoon Clickychick found her dead under one of the hollies, hidden by the branches until she was searching for something.   Clearly she had been killed rather than died.   What could be fast and agile enough to catch a squirrel I don't know.  We will miss her as she was the one we could identify as an individual.

The blip for to day just had to be a squirrel in view of the high and low state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.