If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Honey Bee ( Apis mellifera ) on Dandelion.

Saturday life back to normal!   Cleaning and prepping the Lodge for incoming guests.  Well normal apart from the fact that to keep in the "safer stays" system we have to clean in masks,gloves and disposable aprons.  Fortunately the booking system allows an extra 2 hours for cleaning.

I have noticed over the last few days Dandelions are starting to flower up here in the frozen north.  Then I noticed that all the few Dandelion flowers I could see had Honey Bees visiting them.   There must be a lot of nectar in a Dandelion as the bees were spending a lot of time on each flower.

Thankfully this gave me time to sort the camera out so that I could get decent shots for one.  An interesting thing I noticed is that Dandelion pollen seems to be exactly the same colour as the petals.   If you look carefully there is a full pollen sac on the bees leg almost invisible because of the colour  (well it was in real life but shows up quite well on the photo).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.