Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

New growth

We thoroughly enjoyed the play All of My Sons at the Old Vic last night. It was the London stage debut for both Sally Field and Bill Pullman, and together with Jenna Coleman and Colin Morgan (who played Merlin in the TV series of the same name) they all put on a very powerful performance that had us all riveted in our seats.

We were guests* of one of Gavin's clients, a large bank, and as is the practice today of large banks, law firms. accounting firms etc in London, they very generously support the arts. The Old Vic is neither privately owned nor government funded, it's a community theatre, so it depends on sponsors like these to enable them to attract big names as they had in their cast. We had drinks and canapes before the show and again at interval, and were invited for more drinks after the show when the cast usually also attend, but I was not feeling that well, I had a cold starting and so when the show ended I chose to rather get the next train home. As it turned out the cast did not come for drinks, so I did not miss out!

Today I bought more groceries for the Easter weekend, the good weather means we will enjoy a few BBQ's.  Sunshine, blossoms everywhere, new leaves on the trees, and warm weather all mean that spring is definitely here. 

I feel okay now but in the early mornings and evening I feel a bit thick headed with a slight cold - so this morning when I woke up very early I lay in bed a while and finished my book, Where the Crawdads Sing. What a fabulous read, it has been a huge success, a New York Times best seller and now Reece Witherspoon is the producer making it into a movie, I will look forward to seeing that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.