I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Hello!

I noticed this nest in the cholla cactus in our front yard last week. Some little birds have been busy. Yesterday morning I saw a bird going in with a black chinned hummingbird enjoying the red sage that has started to bloom.

This morning, I camped out on a low stool and waited. I was rewarded by this Verdin coming out of the nest. (in extra) These little darlings are 
4-4 1/2" (10-11cm). They lay 3-5 greenish, spotted eggs (which I will never see) in a hanging nest with the entrance hole in the side. 

I hope that I will be able to see the little ones when they fledge. I just don't know when that is going to be. Will have to keep an eye on this.

I also noticed this cholla is starting to form flower buds. From the size of the yellow pods (see extra photo) it will be quite a while before we see any flowers.

I am grateful that my patience paid off. It is certainly not one of my strong suits!

Until tomorrow.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.