Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Black Tailed Godwit #45

Another day of Skype meetings, but an early finish left us time to go out for a walk at Pennington Flash. Our favourite today was this black tailed godwit with it's orange breeding plumage. 
But I'd like some help with the birds in the extra that were miles away on the spit. This is on maximum zoom and crop so is very poor, but I think that they might be whimbrel. If this is true, it will be a first as I don't think I've seen one before. I think the bill is too short for a curlew and it does seem to have the dark top and light stripe above the eye that is supposed to be a characteristic of the whimbrel. Would be great if someone can confirm this for me. 

Have a great Easter weekend everyone - looks like it will be a scorcher in many places in the UK for a change :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.