Dreamy Flowers

I tend to take trees for granted and don't bother identifying them by name.  After all the time I've spent photographing cherry trees this year, I thought I would look into this particular specimen in more detail.  We have equal numbers of this tree, the Kwanzan Cherry, as we do the Yoshino Cherry in our neighborhood.  The Yoshino is famous for the Cherry Blossom Festival each spring in Washington.  Its flowers are predominantly white with single identifiable petals.  The Kwanzan, that I have blipped today, are large multilayered puff balls on the ends of the stems.  They are a much more saturated pink, and bloom a couple of weeks later than the Yoshinos.  As a result, the streets remain lined with color for a couple more weeks if rain and wind don't interfere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.