Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh

It was a beautiful Spring day with blue skies and sunshine.

I was confined to barracks because the plumber might come between 0800 and 1800! By lunchtime I had completed quite a lot of festival stuff and I phoned the firm. I was amazed that they were prepared to give me a time of "near to 3.30".

That gave me time for a walk, so, after an early lunch, I set off. I walked from the house, up Burn Lane, across the fields to Keepershield Farm and back via Haughton Castle.

In Burn Lane I met this little pooch. He was not on his way to a dinosaur fancy dress party, but wears these spikes to protect himself from attacks by bigger dogs. How sad that he needs this. He looked quite comical but a bit sad too.

I managed the walk well - 3.8 miles I think - and Arth was on good form.

Mum wasn't very well when I arrived home. 

The plumber showed at near to 5pm. He fixed a dripping tap and then looked at the pipework beyond our leak. He used a vacuum cleaner to suck out loads of disgusting gunge. Hopefully our troubles with drainage are over..........but I'm not holding my breath.

He thinks that the pipes below the kitchen (in the ceiling of Mum's wardrobe) need to be changed and this should be done before the room is decorated. I can feel another delay coming on.

I stayed at home this evening. We watched the first episode of the second series of A House Through Time  I can understand why so many people are talking about it locally. Fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.