Colin R

By colinr

London 2012 - Blip 9 - Track Cycling

I finally made it to track cycling in the velodrome.

Before that, though, since my cycling ticket was also a day pass to other venues, I squeezed in goal ball in the morning and wheelchair tennis over a lunchtime sandwich.

But, it was the track cycling that was the main event, and my highlight of both Games. So exciting, so fast, so noisy and so hot!

As was I as it took a while to get out of the velodrome, and I the had to practically run to the other end of the Olympic Park to get to the Orbit in time.

The Orbit gave excellent views over the stadium and the rest of the park, though photographically spoilt a little by the over-size chicken wire there for safety. But, there were unobscured views to be had from the glass areas - this was looking directly down on the parasols shading the tables at one of the main food areas beneath the Orbit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.