SilverImages

By SilverImages

St David's Church, Rhymney

"Life has its own hidden forces which you can only discover by living." Soren Kierkegaard.

In search of ancestors today, with cousin C, to Fochriw, Rhymney  and Merthyr. At Fochriw I visit the house where my paternal grandfather lived for a few years, working in the nearby coal mine. Later, I visit my maternal grandfather's grave at St David's church in Rhymney, where he's buried with his wife and two infant children who died in the same week in 1917. The door to the church is open and the icing on the cake is that there's a birthday celebration inside so it's open and I'm welcome to have a look around inside and take a few photos of the interior before heading off to Merthyr for my own birthday lunch treat. I was reminded today of a Kirkegaard quote I'd used before, that "Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.