Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fan(tastic)

A long day. It started at all the 30 minute intervals from 2 until 5 when I gave up trying to sleep in my own bed and headed for CarbBoy’s spare bed (the builders having broken the normal snoring bed earlier in the week).

Later, work with our most excellent neighbour to link up yesterday’s guttering (not blipped yet) with the drainage system. I think the amount of work he has willingly, even eagerly, put in over the last few days has finally made the penny drop with Mr B why I bang on about community. (OK, it may also have something to do with me not making this (cash-strapped) neighbour pay for the damage his son caused to our car.)

Once all that was done, a chilli was made per TallGirl’s instructions to feed to her pal L who is here for the night (at what age do sleepovers stop and visits begin?)

And then (drumroll) off to the school to collect CarbBoy after his week in Madrid. He even allowed me to hug him in front of his friends. The family he was staying with rigidly observed his friend’s no pork requirement, but were curiously relaxed about CarbBoy’s allergies, serving him something he is allergic to pretty much every night and saying he could just “pick around it”. When the sesame came out he drew a line and refused, telling them he could die - which seemed at least to have an effect (I guess they presumed we put “allergies” on the form as a substitute for “doesn’t like very much”, like he’s fussy rather than at risk of needing an ambulance. (As you can tell I am a bit irritated both by the family’s attitude, and by the folk who say they are ‘allergic’ to something when really they are intolerant to it (or just intolerable).

Presents opened and I have a lovely new fan. Now, with all my people safely gathered in, I can drop this week’s anxiety and enjoy the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.