The Welsh dragon!

Usually depicted in red but here blazing white in the sun!

We started the day trying to get football tickets with painful results! Ro kept redoing it when in fact I think they went through the first time, but the site kept telling us to repeat it all! Finally he talked to a man who worked it all out! So frustrating! I thought we had missed breakfast but no!

We walked up to the station and on the way I took a shot of one of the many bridges over the network of narrow canals in Cardiff.

No problems getting reservations on the homeward bound train! Nothing like talking to someone! Charming and free!

Ro took me to see the stadium. Walked along it to the other side and into Bute park! I think most of Cardiff walks there on a Saturday! But it’s big and absorbs everyone quite happily! We went to the Secret Garden Café! The door into it was brilliant: panels of wood carved to show the history of the park. My favourite one was of a black friar. Very dark and broody under his hood! I bent down to look up at his face and it didn’t disappoint!! ( There used to be a friary on the land in 1256)

We stopped for some food which was delicious! Ro had a huge sausage roll and I had a slice of fruit loaf with Welsh butter! Coffee and mint tea to drink. We sat in the shade ! It was hot! A big thank you to Tridral for telling me about it!

From there we walked on to find a Lidl, following people going in the opposite direction with Lidl bags! And bought food for this evening! Then on to see where the church of St Peters is as we are going there to the Easter vigil Ceremony this evening! By then it seemed so far from our hotel but we made it! Now having a well earned rest!

I have been amazed at how great the roads are around Cardiff and at how little traffic there is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.