Bute Park

Happy Easter everyone!

After breakfast Ro and I took our time, then set off for the town centre. As luck would have it we never found the canal I wanted to follow but instead a quick way into town. Arrived at a huge John Lewis to find everything closed. Easter Sunday! The Works was open and a couple of other shops and lots of bars, restaurants and Pubs! Cardiff has rough sleepers too. Ex 1. We passed Aneurin Beven’s statue Ex 2. on the site of a bull ring in the 18 century! And made our way to a park in front of Cardiff city Hall which is topped by a dragon. Ex 4. We sat in the shade of a magnificent tree to enjoy the weather!

The museum is just next to the City Hall so we had a coffee and shared a piece of cake before Ro left for the match. He had about an hours walk to the stadium.

I had the luxury of visiting a museum at my pace(slow). They had lots of paintings I liked. My favourite was probably El Greco’s : The disrobing of Christ. I was also surprised that Lewis carol was a painter! They have a large collection of pottery. I was disappointed, however, that their collections of photos were not on display.

I left the museum to walk to Bute park. I love that place! So lovely on a hot day. Took photos of the castle from the park Ex3. and came out near the Cardiff Arms Park Stadium. It’s interesting to know that it was built where the river Taff used to run, the river having been straightened by Brunel when he was building a railway! By then it was so hot! I collected some food from a Tesco express and took myself back to the hotel for a rest!

Later I’m to join Ro around Cardiff Bay! I suspect we’ll be in Wagamama this evening! Hope the queue is not too long!

I also hope you’re all having a wonderful day in the sun! Xxxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.