NellieD

By NellieD

Bon voyage!

It was my crochet/knit group meetup today and it's always really hard to judge how many will turn up on a warm, sunny day.  I'm sure they could stay at home in their garden with a glass of something chilled but everyone is really supportive of the group and 36 came along.

One of our ladies attended her last meetup today as she's off for a new adventure in Sweden.  She's only been with the group for under a year but I know she made good friends and we'll all miss her.  Arriving from another country and not knowing a single person must be a really daunting task - I don't think I could do it - so it's nice to know that the group is somewhere people can find a friendly face and a sense of belonging.

Everyone is always very vocal in their appreciation of the group and in an age where people are very quick to complain, a few words of thanks really do go a long way.  As the organiser, it always reminds me that the group can mean so many different things to people and it's so much more than just a room where everyone knits and crochets.  

There's quite a few Sine Missione messages around Manchester now and I've been meaning to blip this one every time I walk past it to go to the group.

Quote for today:
Peace is not absence of conflict, it is the ability to handle conflict by peaceful means.
- Ronald Reagan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.