Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Dog Violet

I had a lovely time at Moore Nature Reserve this morning and added 4 birds to my 2019 list - Redwing(unusual for them to still be here), Whitethroat, Willow Tit and Mistle Thrush. Because of the size of the group - over 20 - it was hard to take photos or get close to the birds, but really nice to meet the new Warden, Nick, who is so very passionate about the reserve and so very knowledgeable. 
I stayed another couple of hours after the walk was over and managed a few nice shots, but thought I would have a change today and join in with Miranda's Wildflower Week - thank you so much for hosting. 

This, I believe, is a dog violet and I loved it even more close up.  In extra's you can see two blackbirds squaring up to each other. At first I thought they were a pair mating as it looked like one was on top of the other, but when I got closer and they separated, I realised it was two males. I don't know what they were fighting about as there wasn't a female in sight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.