Spring Flowers

I have badly fallen from grace blipwise as I haven't contributed a blip for over two weeks. I have been downsizing my camera equipment having decided that lugging 13 kilos of equipment around when on Photographic Workshops was getting a bit too much for my age. As I was down-sizing from SLR full frame to APS-C I decided to sell most of my Canon D6 camera and a host of lenses and to purchase a brand new APS system hoping that by doing this I would radically reduce the weight of my camera bag. However because I opted for best quality 2.8 lenses I have only reduce the weight by about a third though I have cut down to two lenses from three so that helps me to reach about the 50% mark.

Getting used to the new fujifilm XT3 format has taken a while but the real reason that I have struggled to get round to blipping is the fact that Lightroom needed to be updated as the XT3 has only come out in the last six months and that's where I began to hit real problems. I could not update my desktop Mac PC to the latest OS as it is now about ten years old and so I was unable to read the XT3 RAW files. I could not even update my version of Adobe DNG converter to  reads these files as it also needed the updated OS version as well. I tried another software workaround, Iridient X-Transformer but found that it is a very slow piece of software not suited to regular daily use. 

Fortunately my MacBook was just young enough (mid 2012) for me to update the OS to Mojave and update the DNG Converter and Lightroom. I certainly do not have room on my laptop for my normal input of image files and so I needed to transfers the converted dng files to my desktop and this is where I encountered a further problem. There are problems in file sharing between mac OS mojave and El Capitan which I use on my desktop and I have found the only way I can transfer the files is to put them in my public dropbox on the laptop and then copy them to my desktop. All of which is a bit cumbersome as it means firing up two computers and moving between two mouses and a shared keyboard. I would certainly welcome any guidance if there are any Mac techies out there. So that's why it's taken me so long to begin to blip again !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.