snailspace

By snailspace

Pastures new

Yesterday was very much a non-day. I was feeling low and lacking in energy and didn't manage to go out or to unbag a camera, so no Blip. Instead I mooched around, playing silly games on my tablet until I made my RSI hurt.

This morning I got up determined to be less stupid/lazy. The morning was overcast and cooler than the past few days and so we decided to make Nell's walk a little longer than usual and to explore some new territory. We thought that we might tackle Boucle no 8.

Part way around the Boucle we realised that it was not going to be that long a walk after all so we added a bit extra in, though it still ended up shorter than if we had done Boucle no 9. Next time we do no 8, we will join up with no 7 and see how far that takes us.

Anyway, we were out for two hours and did a bit over 8 km, seeing some new scenes - like this lovely spot. The Hoopoe were calling, as were the Cuckoos and also the Frogs. There was one very noisy chap in this pond. I took a photo but didn't have  a long enough lens to do him justice. Can't help wondering how such a tiny frog can make so much racket!

Annoyed, having set the GPS on my Fitbit running (a) that  I had to record it as a Run, due to Walk having disappeared from my exercise categories and (b) that the GPS stopped working at 6.48 km, so I don't have a full route map or stats.

I updated the Firmware on my Fitbit recently but only discovered today that it now displays my Cardio-fitness rating. Allegedly, my rating is between Very Good  and Excellent for a woman of my age!!! Damned if I can see how a watch can work that out.

I once went on a treadmill to have my fitness rated. I do not believe that I have worked so hard in my life and I really did not  like wearing the tubes and wires - they made the 60 second interval thumb prickings seem like nothing, At the end of it I was informed that I was very fit. I said "you mean for a woman of my age..." (40 at that time) and was told, no, I was fit. Far more so than most of the 18 year-old students that had been in for testing. My head was very swollen for the remainder of that week :-)

We are going to the seaside on Tuesday if plans work out, so hopefully a nice Blip forthcoming of somewhere entirely new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.