Potential

A day trip to Newcastle. It was the only way to get to meet L and G during their current sojourn in the UK, although we will be seeing them next month in Greece. I liked this grouping, taken with the long lens on the Millenium Bridge. The way the gazes are being 'exchanged' reminds me of the distracted boyfriend meme (who would expect such a thing to have its own wikipedia page, when there are still so many distinguished women in many fields who don't have their own...).

I've never stopped in Newcastle to have a look around. I've obviously been through on umpteen occasions on the train, and I've occasionally been there for work, but never long enough to have a look around. We had an excellent wander from the station, through Grainger Town, to the Laing (to see a Whistler exhibition), and then another wander to Cafe 21 for lunch (recommended by Munroist). After lunch, we wandered to the Baltic and saw an interesting exhibition about digital citizenship (a topic on which someone I know is writing a book), before a final wander past the Castle (which had the Victorian railway driven right through the middle of it) to find a reasonably quiet pub where a couple of pints may have been consumed.

The best of my photographs are on flickr.

Away from the recently renovated shiny bits, there are a lot of really interesting old buildings in Newcastle, but many of them are not in a good way - like the Keelmen's Hostel. The place has what the estate agents would call "potential". I hope someone sees it and fixes it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.