Day van

I never really understood the concept of a campervan as a day van. 
Until today, that is. 

Knowing we were unlikely to find a one-night stand in a campsite, we decided to go on tour. It was splendid!

We moseyed along to Stocks Reservoir where were just early enough to miss a couple of group walkers and had the place to ourselves as the sun began to warm. Without a breath of wind and just the birds on the water, it was a peaceful way to start the day. We then picked up the cycle route I did on my Blipday and headed to Slaidburn for a second breakfast. 

Little Dog was most perturbed to hear a bike arrive, thinking we were going to join in, which got us chatting to a lovely guy training for the All Points North mammoth bike ride challenge. He had a magnificent and seriously challenging outing planned today of about 130 miles but the ride he’ll be doing for the event will be about 200miles a day with huge ascents for three days. He was a lovely guy to chat with but I won’t be adding that to my ideas list!

We jollied on through to Silverdale on quiet roads via the Trough of Bowland which was surprisingly empty for a Bank Holiday.  I’d expected to see the roadside littered with cars rather than just a few families pond dipping... lovely for them though.

Next stop, RSPB Leighton Moss where Little Dog was allowed on a few of the paths (and in the meagre remains of our ice cream tubs!) we spotted a marsh harrier plenty of bird life on the water and butterflies in the reeds before finding the Posh Sardine cafe in Arnside. I had the posh sardines on toast which weren’t, perhaps, as posh as you might imagine but completely hit the spot. It was a great find with smashing hosts who we chatted to for quite some time before hitting the road home. 

We were considering another ice cream stop but I had a weird sunlight moment which made me think migraine so we headed almost straight back with a good dose of painkillers to hopefully ward anything off.

By Skipton, we were hungry so Rich suggested fish and chips to eat on top of Embsay Moor. He sent me on a Race Across the Town Challenge to find a fish and chips shop. That, I duly did, and came running back Hanna-style (not the best of dramas if you haven’t seen it!) only to find the whole of Skipton would have seen me but not my other half with his head in his phone! 

Feeling a lot better, we extended our day in the sunshine overlooking our valley, only to spot, with horror, smoke from what could only be a moorland fire above Ilkley. Great plumes and visible flames, despite the distance, sickened us, made me dwell on the wildlife egg laying up there and the people, even if inadvertently, who have likely caused it.  Rich noted how personal it must feel for me spending so many hours enjoying the wilds of life alone up there. It really does. Saddened but not letting it detract from such a smashing day out. 


Seem to have a migraine but it’s always hard to tell when there’s no flashing lights. A hangover tomorrow may clarify it.  I blame Hanna! Maybe not the brightest of funny ideas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.