Wildfire. Wildlife. Waste.

Going to sleep to the sound of a helicopter, I woke up feeling sad.  I headed up to the moors with a migraine hangover to have a look at how the landscape had fared.  The first thing I spotted was a butterfly sitting on discarded plastic - it seemed poignant.

It was a strange feeling hearing birdlife but seeing the smouldering moorside, knowing that it would be impossible for wildlife to come out of the acres of burnt moorland unscathed.  Birds, mammals and insects - in all stages of lifecycles will have been injured or destroyed.

I couldn't find anything else to say as I passed these firefighters, who had clearly been up all night, apart from thank you. I felt quite emotional.

I left as the firefighting helicopter arrived to help dampen down the moors on the hottest weekend of the year.  Hopefully, it won't re-ignite.  

Apparently, arrests have been made.  There’s also talk of accidental. Two separate incidents by the sounds of it.
A sad waste of wildlife, resources and time.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.