Sebulon

By sebrose

Pump inaction

It’s already sunny when I get up. Megan rings to say that the professor that she is dog sitting for has been arrested in London on the XR demo and has missed her bus home.

I collect refugee hens from Bonnington and deliver a couple to Bill. The barn get three, I get three. We catch two of my cockerels, setting the outdoor population to 1 cockerel and 4 hens.

I continue checking the pump. It’s tripping the RCD, so I change the plug and try it on a different supply. No improvement. It looks like 10 years of hard service is all I can expect.

The tractor, on the other hand, starts first time. It needs some oil on a few linkages and a lot of air in one of the rear tyres, but otherwise it seems in fine fettle considering it has been parked outside for a couple of years. I leave it in the polytunnel.

Mike decrees that it is too hot to move sheep. He’s sitting in the garden at Banalaw, with Craig, drinking cider. I bring a bottle of Ricard and a bag of ice. There’s nothing like an cold glass of anise, sitting in the sun after a long day of chores.

I cycle back over the hill, eat my tea and pluck one of the cockerels. The other will have to wait for tomorrow night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.