An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Elevensies and the V&A...

Fiona, my friend and Chief Bridesmaid, is home on a flying visit from New Zealand and this morning we went to meet up with her at her mum and dad's house in Broughty Ferry.

Another gloriously sunny day and when we arrived her mum had set a small table in the garden so we could have tea and cake whilst enjoying the lovely weather.

It was a bit of an emotional return for me as I haven't been at Fiona's parent's house since 1984 when I was 17, and although I've seen her mum since then, I haven't seen her dad.  David is now in his 80s and quite frail but still as lovely and charming and humorous as I remember him from my childhood.

Our families go back a long way.  My gran was friends with Fiona's gran, my mum was friends with Fiona's mum so it was inevitable that Fiona and I would be friends too.  Even though she lived in Broughty Ferry, she spent a lot of her school holidays at her gran's house and I spent a fair few holidays at Broughty Ferry  so distance was no object to our friendship.  And despite the fact she's been down under since 1992, when we get together, it's as though we just saw each other last week.

We spent a lovely couple of hours with David and Margaret, catching up, reminiscing and promising to keep in touch once Fiona is back in New Zealand.  

David, who has been illustrating the Bash Street Kids for the Beano since 1962 (article here) and also illustrated Dennis the Menace for many years, very kindly autographed two Beanos for Alan, next to his comic strips.  They will be treasured.

Fiona had asked me to take some photos of her dad and some of her with both of her parents.  It was quite a challenge due to the strong sunlight but I think I've managed to get some she will be happy with.  We also had a hilarious time getting a group shot of us all with the camera on timer and balanced on a wheelie bin!  Thankfully there's one of us all looking at the camera with our eyes open!

In the afternoon David, Fiona and I went to the V&A museum for lunch and a wander round.  It was our first visit (Fiona's been before) and we were very impressed.  What an amazing building.  Designed by Kengo Kuma who's inspiration for the design came from the cliffs on the north eastern Scottish coastline and the shipbuilding heritage of Dundee.  I certainly packs a punch inside and out (more shots in extras.)

We had a tasty lunch in the cafe then visited the Scottish Design Gallery to see, amongst other things, an exhibit of Fiona's dad's work.  She hadn't seen the exhibition so it was a special moment to be there with her and take her photograph standing next her dad's work.

All too soon it was time to head home.  Fiona's sister Lorraine picked her up so it was lovely to see her too, if only for five minutes.

Home and with the sun still shining David headed to the golf range and I began the mammoth task of editing today's photos!

What a lovely weekend this has been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.