WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Kaleidoscopic

Wet day today, wet enough that I skipped the Tuesday walk. Instead I went for a little walk around the village looking for detail. I liked the way this wild flower looks like a kaleidoscope image. Annoyingly, I used to know what these were called, but now I've forgotten. Help! In extras: a couple of others. The yellow flower (name also unknown) is not sharp but I liked the swirl effect that the not-sharpness gave it.

Photos don't always have to be brilliant to be worthwhile ... back in January, out of the blue, someone contacted me via Flickr asking to use one of my photos for commercial purposes. It was by no means one of my best. I honestly thought it was some kind of scam -- I didn't even reply for several days, until they followed up with another message. 

Following a rather lackadaisical exchange of emails, I began to realise this might be serious. Signed NDA, negotiations over a contract, and today, finally, I received my first ever payment for a photo ... $1,000 USD! To say I am flabbergasted is an understatement. Doing a happy dance though. While trying to decide what to spend it on ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.