CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Wisteria chinensis is blooming

I tried to film this wonderfuil blooming feast a couple of days ago in full sun light, but knew I had to wait for duller times. Tonight as I was cooking a special tofu dish I suddenly thought I should photograph it before the weather turned. That was a timely thought as the dusk had already dulled the brightness, and within thirty minutes it was starting to rain.

I planted this Wisteria chinensis soon after we'd the cabin built in the garden about ten years ago. I don't look after it very well and cut it back quite ruthlessly at times. But this year's feast of flowers couldn't be better. It isn't the flowers that need cutting back, but the long straggling and rather invasive branches which find their way inside the cabin given half a chance. They rather like the decision to use feather edge cladding on the outside of the cabin as they can find small gaps underneath the boards. But as it is such a beautiful plant and brings us such spring delights, I forgive it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.