CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Guinea fowl at Stancombe, in line astern

I went to the farm shop early this morning to meet Keith and Ashley which was fun, as always. Having finalised the plan I went off to the local garage to check my tyre pressures and spotted some odd birds in the adjacent field. On the way back I pulled off the road and walked back to the field where I was highly amused by the antics of about thirty guinea fowl.

I think that the owners of a smallholding have switched their field's use from pigs to fowl, as the pigs had gone and I've never seen guinea fowl there before. They are amusing birds with their tendency to suddenly run at high speed for a short distance, as if spooked, and to then have little set-tos with each other accompanied by a lot of feathers being raised and jumping in the air on the spot.

The weather was much murkier than recently and by the time I got home the rain had begun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.