CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Abbey Barn Rural Museum's horse, with view of Tor

I set off early this morning to drive to a conference in Glastonbury, where the South-west Heritage Trust Network were having a regular meeting to share news of projects and of funding opportunities. My friend Camilla is  chair of the network, as well as of Stroud Preservation Trust, of which I’m also a trustee.  Most of those attending were active in other preservation trust projects, some currently regenerating buildings in their area, whilst others are hoping to do so.

Each meeting is held in a building that has been a completed regeneration project. Today it was held in what has become Somerset Rural Life Museum at Abbey Farm, located in one of the now ruined Glastonbury Abbey’s four original working barns, close to the ruins near the town centre.

After the meeting we had a tour around the wonderful museum, which I recommend checking out. There was also a very good exhibition by local photographer, and ‘part-time cider maker’, Matilda Timperley, called ‘A view from the hill’. This very short video interview with Matilda gives a good introduction and shows some of her images.

In the the courtyard between their new visitor centre, the museum buildings and the renovated Abbey Barn is this commissioned life-size sculpture of a rural horse, built entirely from recycled iron. I thought a photo of it with Glastonbury Tor in the background would be a suitable memento of my visit.

I should add that back in yesteryear, circa 1970, I used to visit the remnants of St Michael's church on the tor, and even slept inside it during a mid-summer solstice celebration. I didn't climb up there this time, but you can just see some people who have done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.