Luminous after the rain.

This morning was warm and muggy as if earth was waiting for the downpour to arrive. 
I really enjoyed pottering in the garden, doing nothing in particular, and certainly nothing strenuous. Nurse in Charge keeping a beady eye on me in case I overstepped my Post Op guidelines. And I do  appreciate if I do not follow them I will not make good progress. 
We have bluebells in the "wild patch" behind the shed at the furthest end from the house. Spanish variety, but I like them just the same. Forget-me-nots, dandelions, and ferns. 
A colourful jumble at the foot of the old apple tree, now covered in soapsud-white blossoms. 
My absolutely happy place. 

At mid morning I was in the summerhouse enjoying a cup of tea and biscuits, watching the goldfinches, hedge sparrows, resident garden robin, with an occasional quick dart of the nuthatch, as the sky became darker towards the West.
     The rain arrived in squally bursts by lunchtime. 
I must have fallen asleep after lunch and woke up in my comfy place on the settee, to a darkened room, rain spattering on the lounge window, and momentarily had no idea where I was!
Having dragged myself back through the layers of consciousness, I finished off what was left of my Easter egg, and went up to the loft bedroom to take the photo.
   Everything was luminous green and refreshed. 
I love the smell of the earth after a dry warm spell when it receives a soaking.
I stood by the backdoor a bit later and just sniffed the air.........   
Now the gusty bursts of rain have moved away, things are quieter with blue patches of sky re-appearing. 
Just had another cup of tea and a piece of Nurse in Charge's homemade marmalade cake. Very scrumptious! 

           

 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.