Networking prize

I have had a very busy few days attending various networking events in the area. I think they must have all fallen in the same week due to Easter holidays.

I’ve been absolutely amazed at how friendly and welcoming people have been, how complimentary they have been about my hats, and how readily people have suggested new contacts and opportunities. I now have a personal shopper and an image consultant who are interested in collaborating for potential outfits to weddings and the races, and two visits to my studio lined up!

I have to admit I’ve found it more tiring promoting myself and my business than I ever did representing my company as an auditor, as there is so much more of me involved in the hats.

Yesterday evening I went to my first Women’s Institute meeting. Luckily I bumped into a neighbour, as got a little bit lost. They were due a talk by a local pork farm, and when I walked in, was immediately asked, ‘are you the pig lady?’ as the speaker had not turned up. It was quite a welcome! Unfortunately the pig lady didn’t turn up, so I wished I’d left my hats in the boot of the car and I could have done an impromptu presentation.

Oh, and I won the wine in the raffle at today’s networking lunch... I think it was because they want me to go back next month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.