Black And White

I got some interesting bug images at home and after lunch Ollie dog and I went for a walk at Fishers Green. I heard and saw my first reed warbler of the season and spent an enjoyable interlude photographing common terns in flight.

We met a woman and Taffy, her Welsh terrier. I asked her if the great crested grebes were still sitting in their usual position and she replied in the affirmative. When we got to the nest one was sitting and the other preening. As we approached the nest on the way back a couple who we have met before informed me that the eggs hadn't hatched yet.

I had a good look and thought that the sitting bird's feathers looked a bit ruffled. Then a black and white striped head popped up briefly and disappeared. The bird in the water then caught a fish and approached the nest. Two stripey heads popped out.They were offered the fish many times but I think it was too big for them to manage. The bird then fed one of them with a feather. This is normal for grebes, it helps with digestion.

Whilst on our late evening walk Ollie dog and I met Brock sauntering along Butterfly Alley. His black and white face really showed up well in the fading light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.