Awards dinner

Despite still feeling lousy, I managed to keep my two appointments today. The first was with Jack to 'interview' him about his career. The second was the University's annual awards dinner.

I almost wimped out of the latter. It's just as well that I didn't because had I cancelled there would have been an empty seat next to the Principal at dinner. (Until we were invited into the dining room I had no idea that I had been placed next to her.) I would also have missed the opportunity to catch up with a range of colleagues from across the University, including Winsford.

It was quite an exciting evening for those who had been short-listed for awards. The person seated to the left of me was delighted to win one of the two for which he was nominated. I wasn't there to collect an award myself, but one of the Vice Principals made some very kind remarks about my research profile at the end of a speech on grants.

I blipped my dinner table just before we sat down for our meal.

Exercise today: none other than a little walking (8395 steps - still ill).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.