Paddling heron and big boat

This morning we waited for the sun to come out, then set off for East Lothian on our bikes immediately after lunch. We cycled as far as Aberlady. At the village shop there I bought us each a Mars bar ice cream and drinks (milkshake for Mr hazelh, orange juice for me). Then we found a bench next to the shoreline for a few minutes of rest, and to watch some swirling terns while we gobbled our snacks. It was a wonderful day for a ride in the sunshine, especially since there was so little traffic on the roads. We were only passed by one bus in 3 hours, and saw many more cyclists than drivers. It was so safe that many parents were happy for even very small children to cycle on the road :-)

Once home again we cooked our supper, watered the plants, caught up with Mummy hazelh by phone, then readied ourselves for the social event of the week: online quiz night organised by Bruce and Elly with Susan, Paddy and Caitlin, Rachel (my PhD student), Janet and Alistair, and Jane and Ian. Together we played three rounds of 'Call my bluff'. My words were peytrel, planticle, and hareld. Everyone chose the correct definition for my first word, but I fooled some with my second and third. The game worked really well, and I think that I have come up with a clever variation to test the next time that we 'meet' for quiz fun.

I took this photograph of the paddling heron and the big boat from Longniddry bents on the outward leg of our cycle ride.

Exercise today: cycling (33 miles)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.