Adelaide Botanic Garden

I've seen and identified four new birds in Adelaide today - this, my main blip, is a Musk Lorikeet (Glossipsitta concinna), not to be confused with the plentiful Rainbow Lorikeets of Perth. In my Extras are the other three new ones, plus a close up of an Australian Magpie that I saw lots of last week. From left to right, top to bottom, they are: Magpie Lark AKA "Peewee", Crested Pigeon, Australian Magpie and Noisy Miner. My sudden ability to identify the birds I spot is thanks to the purchase today of Michael Morcombe's Field Guide to Australian Birds. Fun thing is, it's so comprehensive, though compact, that referencing locations it gives me hints what birds to look out for, as well as identifying them after I've seen them. Such a great buy!

Bumped into some relatives of my chessmen*, so Mr PP caught that on camera - my other Extra!

Adelaide has its own distinct character, but shares the spotlessness of Perth and its love of statues. The city centre has some lovely old buildings and parks around the River Torrens. We visited the Botanic Museum and the National Australian Wine Centre - where we had lunch and imbibed - um - coffee! (Sipping wine now that it's evening, but we might not have stayed vertical if we'd drunk that early.) My Fitbit is very pleased with the amount of walking I'm doing; my arthritic knee and Mr PP's second dodgy hip, less so. But on we go ... it's all worth the effort with so much to see.

*The chessmen's Aussie relatives
were pleased to say Hello.
But we had no time to watch them play
before we had to go.

Trying to catch up with blipmates in odd moments. Apologies for my frequent failure.
Have a lovely weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.