Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Ruth

learning translation
while tasting delicious wines
nice combination

Quite better viewed large!

I went to a professional event on Friday. In the morning I attended a workshop on "Translating in the wine world". We learnt a lot about the viticulture vocabulary, the wine making vocabulary and eventually the vocabulary of wine tasting. Needless to say, we had to actually taste wine to give our impressions, then refine them once we learnt the lingo!

Ruth, portrayed here, held the workshop. She's a translator like us, but happens to be married to a vigneron in Chablis! :-D

I really spent a wonderful day. It's good, from time to time, when you're a freelancer, to realise that other people do the job you do, and to share your troubles, but mostly your enthusiasm!

For example, one of the talks of the afternoon's medley was "Au revoir, Franglais: cutting out source-language interference". Very interesting, as was the last talk about human vs. machine translation.

I always have my camera with me, of course, and ended up being the event's official photographer! :-D I also met a lot of very nice and interesting peope, of course. Maybe we'll meet again at other MET events?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.