Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

1,825

a five-year journey
done in just a few more days
an accomplishment

I'm not sure if, when I blipped my first photo, someone had told me I'd still be here five years later, I'd have believed them... My reason for starting a journal was to get better at photography (and I had a way to go...), then, later that year, it became a way for me to escape the dark turn in my life. In between, I bought myself a full frame camera and, I know it's supposed to be the photographer not the camera, but this decision made my photography better, I think. It allowed me to take the photographs I imagined in my head (more or less, of course, doing it everytime would be quite extraordinary for me).

So here we are. 1,825 blips, all consecutive since 22 December, 2013. Incidentally, both my first blip and the one I started my uninterrupted series with were of Sherlock...

I think I say it every year, but I'll say it again (and not "only once", as Michelle in 'Ello 'Ello used to say countless times): of course Blipfoto helps me remain constant in my photography, but what is even more important are the relationships, the sense of community. I'd miss it no end if I were to stop blipping. So I think you'll have to bear with me for an unknow period of time!

Thanks to my parents' generosity, my collection of photo books is going to expand again, after it's been joined by Sally Mann's A Thousand Crossings on my birthday thanks to Julie. I've just ordered Todd Hido's Intimate Distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.