Himself

If we hadn't gone this morning, we'd have missed the bluebells at their peak. In truth, they're just going over. There isn't the scent and they weren't shimmering like they do at their height.  They will be looking sad and droopy by next weekend.

This is in a patch of ancient woodland close to Loughborough that featured on East Midlands News last week. The location was not cited as I think the owners don't want myriads of people tramping all over. It's an SSSI and there's lots to see besides bluebells. But it can get very muddy.

Basil was standing nicely when I caught him here. He had a fine time running up and down the paths (not Through the bluebells) and greeting canine friends.

Len had gone to watch Leicester City trounce Arsenal by the time we got back. I discovered we had no bacon so had to do with grilled tomatoes and mushrooms with a fried egg.

Felt inspired to prepare an asparagus and sausage tray bake I'd bookmarked on Pinterest so had to pop down to the Coop for ingredients, which gave Basil and me the good opportunity to nip up to St Joseph Tea Room next to the Abbey, for a gluten free scone with clotted cream and jam. Baz was begging the whole time I was eating but seemed satisfied with crumbs.

Len was home on our return. I subsided in the conservatory chair and  napped for one and a half hours. Would be there still except I have to make dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.