The Art of Pineapple Picking

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #5

Another full-on day at the office, only leaving a few minutes to yet again pop up to Market Square before collecting my sandwich. I'm already struggling to recall what on earth I used to blip previously on such grey and miserable winter days. This was the very first shot I took at lunchtime and I pretty much knew right away that it would be my blip. He stood staring at this pineapple so long that I didn't even have to be quick on the draw! I love the expressions on both of this couple's faces. At the time I wasn't even aware of the man walking past behind them, and his clearly nefarious intentions on the vegetable stall. I love these little surprises you sometimes get when you download your pictures.

I'd like to open this one up for you to provide me with a caption. I've never been very good at this kind of thing and I know that some of you are utterly brilliant. So let's have some suggestions as to what the woman is muttering under her breath as her partner communes with this pineapple. The winner will have their name in lights tomorrow.

Finally, I'd like to offer a huge thank you for all the hearts and stars and encouraging comments on the last two street photos. I cannot tell you how much it has meant to me, and has given my confidence a huge boost. There are quite a few of you who I haven't caught up with in months now and I'm really sorry about that. I especially appreciate your feedback when it's so very much just one way. Please excuse me for continuing to be such a poor community blipper.

I've very much liked this week's street photographs myself, which is the most important thing of course, but I didn't know whether they had a more universal appeal. I guess you've told me that they have, which is quite remarkable in a way. It points to the simple truth that people are endlessly fascinating. Every scene such as this is akin to the opening sentence of a novel. You just want to read on ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.