Standing Out From The Crowd

It hasn't stopped raining all day. Even at noon the light was incredibly dull. It felt like only a small proportion of very energetic photons were getting through the thick layer of dark and saturated clouds. Before picking up my sandwich I popped across to Market Square to take some photographs but the lack of available light made it very hard. Despite appearances here, there weren't actually too many people about either. I imagine that most were staying sensibly warm and dry at home.

This young woman did indeed stand out from the crowd. She had a presence on the street which separated her from everyone else. That's what I've tried to capture here. These moments come and go so quickly. I responded yesterday to a comment from Kendall (but for whom I'm sure I wouldn't be out on the street with my camera like this), saying that I'm starting to feel the same sense of excitement here that I feel when I come across a moment of beautiful light in the countryside. You see the picture and there is an immediate rush of adrenaline which helps combat any inhibitions. It's just a matter of being quick enough and bold enough to capture the essence of what is always a fleeting moment. It's enormously satisfying when you succeed - although you don't often know until you get a chance to download your photos later.

It's been a long day at the office. Just one last thing to finish before heading home and hopefully getting to bed not too late. I want to get up early to celebrate the winter solstice - and I trust a world to wake up into. Quite enjoyed this weather forecast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.