LifeinAlohaland

By LifeinAlohaland

Bluegrass festival

Bluegrass in Alohaland, there seems to be quite a lot of it. This weekend there is a festival at the beautiful Ho'omaluhia Botanical Gardens at Kaneohe. It's a beautiful tropical park set on 400 acres, so close to the Ko'olau mountains that you can almost touch them. Ho'omaluhia means "to make a place of peace and tranquillity", and they certainly have done that. 

We arrived in time to do a harmonies workshop, but first we met up with Lesley, the violinist, who introduced us to a few people. One of the things I so love about Alohaland is how friendly and welcoming people are. A number of people came and introduced themselves to us. The workshop was fun, and reminds me how much I love singing and how much I would love to learn more.

In the afternoon, I prepared for our dinner party with Laurie and Ron. And what a success! I made a vegetable curry, dhal, rice, and a grated carrot salad. It really did turn out really well. We might have been at a vegan restaurant ha ha. A lovely evening, I feel a really warm and close affinity with Laurie and we all talked about interesting subjects. 

Tiziano is so much more at home in small groups. He can understand and participate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.