Somewhere in North Otago

Today was character building, not that I needed more character.

Overnight a southerly front moved in and most people didn't want to cycle until the rain stopped. I preferred the wet over the wind that I knew would follow the rain.

Only 3 of us cycled today's 55km and most of it was into a gale force southerly. There were fun moments but most of it was grinding out hill after hill, pedalling the downhill bits, and grinding through valleys funnelling the wind straight at us.

Occasionally we had fun downhill bits and swerving curving bits through trees. Despite thermal shoe covers and a decent jacket, I was cold.

A hot chocolate at a country pub 10kms from the end helped the 3 of us who persevered the whole way, to get there. We slogged out the last 4km climb and sped the last 6km of flats and downhill. A local told me that it was the worst weather day of the year and tough for cycling.

No kidding.

Cycling along a ridge I was blown into a fence, fortunately on the side of the track that wasn't electrified.

On a switch back I came unstuck from Bob. I was moving so slowly I'd like to think that it was a graceful detachment.

Elsewhere a soft surface made for tricky travel. Bob always recovered, good boy Bob.

Today's extras:
We're now in the rolling hills of North Otago. Lakes and trees are replaced with limestone and pastures.

Bob can be seen hanging out at the foot of a limestone outcrop. Others are moody scenes of North Otago in a keen southerly.

Enjoy. I think I did. I do know that I'm immensely proud for persevering today and for knocking off 55 challenging kilometres.

Today's gratitude: For safely completing this adventure and for the opportunity to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.