Through the poplars

This is a part of the Alps 2 Ocean trail that winds through a vineyard in the lower Waitaki Valley.

This morning we biked across Benmore dam, around the side of Lake Aviemore, across Aviemore Dam and onto Kurow.

This morning we headed on down to Duntroon which was the least scenic part of the trip with the exception of the poplars and vineyard.

Bob enjoyed hitting 52km/hour today and parts of the track before Kurow with plenty of swerves and curves. He nearly lost his front wheel in a tight turn with a soft surface this afternoon but recovered. Good boy Bob.

This afternoon felt colder and I'm glad to be showered and in my accommodation now. Tomorrow may be character building if it rains.

Enjoy the extras:
- from Benmore dam with the concrete pipes in the foreground.
- from Aviemore dam with a boxy bit of dam in the foreground.
- scenes around Lake Aviemore.
- Bob looking splendid in a vineyard.
- across the Duntroon wetlands.

The colours really are like this.

Many years ago on another cycling trip, before the trail and with panniers, tent, and the whole self sufficient works, I stopped at Duntroon. I've always regretted that I didn't buy anything from the blacksmith there. Some 25 years later I was utterly surprised and delighted to discover it still exists today. I brought a butter knife. :-)

Today's gratitude: For my parent's legacy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.