Plus ça change...

By SooB

Big rock, little rock

Spent my last day of procrastination* desperately trying to half-do everything on my to-do list, but put off actually completing it until tomorrow, so I can claim the credit tomorrow with a day of big achievement. Quite frustrating though, not being able to get anything done.

Had a psychologist round today who's doing a research study on some of the people doing the medical study I'm involved in. We had a perfectly nice chat and I didn't think much more about it really, but it has somehow left me in a melancholy mood. Doesn't do to think too much about stuff, I guess.

Katherine had a milestone today when she finished her first really long book that she'd read all by herself (she's 7 in case you want to know). Previously we'd do a combination of me reading to her at bedtime, and then her reading on for 10 minutes afterwards. We've read our way through a few of the Narnia and Lemony Snicket books like this. Today she finished Swallows and Amazons, which is really long and has quite old-fashioned language and lots of technical boating terms. She has been disappearing off to her room for the last week or so to just read for hours. I did this all through my childhood and if you ask any of my parents' friends for a recollection of me between 7 and 18 it will be that I was behind a book.

So, on the one hand I'm over the moon that she's developed the love of books that I have, but on the other hand I kind of miss her a bit.

Like I said, melancholy. Still, lots to do tomorrow so I'd better grab a glass of rioja and a bar of chocolate and cheer up a bit.

The rocks (she said, suddenly remembering that this is 'blipfoto' rather than bliprabbit-on-a-bit-about-your-day) are Bass Rock from the beach at North Berwick, where they have a tide-filled paddling pool - with a small rock in it.


*See yesterday for my giving up procrastinating for Lent proclamation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.