Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

This time

I have not bothered to blank out the pixels displaying the street name, nor that of the building I inhabit. I could, but I don't see the point. I am tired, maybe I'll tweak it later.
Over the weekend I listened to a radio programme discussing the fact that, for the most part, local elections are all about refuse collection and access to nurseries.
I wonder which of my local candidates has employed this particular tactic in order to sow the seeds of general unhappiness in the performance of existing local services.
Tories are incumbent, so probably not them.
The Labour Party has actually sent a representative round knocking at doors, and dropped flyers through the letterbox so I doubt they would be up for shitting on my doorstep.
I have no idea about which other parties are even putting candidates forward.
I know that Thanet, just a little farther downstream, is the only borough ever to have elected a member of UKIP.

I miss Greece. In 2015 we elected a party with no previous experience, but who actually cared more about the lives of the electorate than the pockets of party-faithful supporters. They are still in power. Struggling, but struggling in the right way, fighting for the good of the general population.

The building I need to attend on Thursday in order to cast my vote is named for a hero from Greek mythology. I only wish there were a candidate in whom I had as much confidence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.