Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

You can wait around ages for a sofa

And then three come along at once!

Yesterday's photo was taken just as I was heading off to work at 7:15am
During the course of Monday the bin men arrived and removed the garbage, leaving only the fly-tipped sofas. After dark another sofa and a mattress had arrived, along with bedding. My neighbour had taken evening photos to send to the council.
This photo was taken as I went to work this morning and I notice that someone has put their recycling out 24 hours early. By the time I arrived home from work this evening only the bag of recycling remained. The council had indeed arrived with a truck and cleared away the furniture items. Pre-election stunt?

Completely unrelated observation;
No matter where in the world you live, bicycle chains are on the right-hand side of the frame.
In Britain, road users drive on the left and pass one another right shoulder to right shoulder.
British cyclists therefore regard the left of their bicycle as “near-side” and use that side to mount and dismount. So naturally, when we chain up our bicycles in a cycle-rack we stand on the left and the rack is on the right-hand side of the bike, with the chain between the cycle-rack and the bicycle frame. It feels completely natural to me.
Now that Spring is in the air I am no longer the only staff member arriving at work on a bicycle, I am joined by some European colleagues who prefer to use the other side of the rack. I must learn to adapt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.