Forced or forgotten?

About a month ago we visited my sister in her new home in the midlands. She wasn't the only one to be excited at finding a rhubarb patch in her garden, and in response to my eyes' lighting up, she kindly gave me a root.

So, a month later, as it stopped raining for an hour or so, I ventured to the back door. It wouldn't fully open cos there was this big bulky bag in the way. Wondering what was in it, I peeped inside. Wow! RHUBARB!

It's been quietly growing in the dark in our back corridor. Woo-hoo! Looks so young and tender. I've closed the bag up again and I'm leaving it be for now, but I reckon in a while I should be able to harvest some. Might as well leave it till the spring to plant it out now. Allows time for the frosts to finish and gives me time to follow a horse with a shovel to prepare the ground ...

What japes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.