Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Day 1 of 3, Ameland - photography trip

At 9.00 am a group a 9 women gathered at the ferry terminal in Holwerd. The kick off of the 3 days photography trip to Ameland that would guided by both Yolanda and me. Exciting! My first time ever.


After the 45 minutes boat trip we arrived on the island and already the spirit was banter. 11 people who had only just met already were a group. 
Two taxi buses brought us to our hotel. We all checked in and after that we had coffee and tea. We then all introduced ourselves.

The purpose of these 3 days is to say goodbye to the green-P-automatic button on the photo camera and to understand the interaction between ISO, aperture and shutterspeed.

After a first shoot on the beach and great lunch we got on our rental (e-) bikes to set course for the village Hollum and the beach near the lighthouse. On our way there we had several stops to pause and to practise the newly explained theory. The ladies enjoyed themselves very much. I did too. I longed for a bottle of water though. I'd forgotten to take one with me, and the sun was bright and high in the sky.
Around 18.30 we arrived at a restaurant and we all had dinner. Water finally!!

During dinner there was lots of laughter and chit chatting amongst the ladies (10 of them, OMG!!) and they all forgot about the time. Even Yolanda I think... 

The sun would set at 20.52, so at 20.15 I called everybodies attention and reminded them we were on a photo trip.
Before we all were back on our bikes (after paying for dinner and toilet visits) it was 20.35. I took the lead and 'sprinted' towards the beach.
At 20.45 everybody was behind their tripod to catch the last light of the day. Great fun, but too short in my opinion. I quickly grabbed my own shot. While doing that I was explaining what I was doing and why to a few of the students.

Luckily the light lasted for a while after the sun had gone, so everybody could make some nice pictures.

We then had to bike all the way back in the dark to Nes, to our hotel. A distance of about 10 kilometers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.